Rogers Family Mausoleum

Rogers Family Mausoleum (1893)
Riverside Cemetery
274 Main Street, Fairhaven

Mausoleum Window The Rogers mausoleum in Riverside Cemetery was designed by architect Charles Brigham, modeled after a Greek temple of Minerva. It was constructed in 1893. The mausoleum is the final resting place of industrialist and Fairhaven benefactor Henry H. Rogers, his first wife Abbie, three of their children, as well as Rogers’ parents, sister, daughter-in-law Mary, and grandson Henry H. Rogers III.

Henry H. Rogers (1840-1909) was born and brought up in Fairhaven and started a small oil refinery in Pennsylvania at the age of 21. He became one of America’s wealthiest men, eventually serving as second in command in John D. Rockefeller’s Standard Oil Company. Rogers was also a Director of US Steel, a founder of the Amalgamated Copper Company, and the financial backer of the Virginian Railway. Beginning in 1885, Rogers financed a number of public buildings in Fairhaven, including Rogers School, Fairhaven High School, the Town Hall, the Millicent Library and the Unitarian Memorial Church.

The mausoleum has a beautiful stained glass window featuring and image of the Madonna and Child. This is visible by looking through the window grill on front doors.

RETURN to Riverside Cemetery
RETURN to Henry H. Rogers