Lemuel D. Eldred grave site

Lemuel D. Eldred (1850-1921)

An artist known for paintings and etchings of local and foreign scenes. He studied art for about five years under William Bradford and at the National Academy of Design in New York. He traveled to Europe, Algeria and Morocco and painted a number of scenes from these places as well as scenes. Eldred bought the former art studio of William Bradford in 1891 and had it moved to a lot at North and Cherry streets. Eldred also wrote about local history and was an original member of the Fairhaven Colonial Club. A collection of his writings were compiled and published in 2007 by Albert F. Benac. Art by Eldred is displayed at the Fairhaven Historical Society Museum, the Fairhaven Town Hall, and is in the collections of the New Bedford Whaling Museum, and the Peabody Museum in Salem. At the end of his life Eldred lived on William Street in New Bedford.

RETURN to Riverside Cemetery