Ned’s Point Lighthouse

photo courtesy of Jessica DeCicco-Carey

Ned’s Point Lighthouse
Veterans Memorial Park
50 Ned’s Point Road, Mattapoisett

This active navigational aid was built in 1838 when Mattapoisett was still a village of Rochester. It was built by prominent businessman and shipbuilder Leonard Hammond. The stone tower originally had a “birdcage style” lantern, which was replaced with a larger octagonal housing before 1888. A lighthouse keeper’s house stood nearby until 1923 when the light was automated.

The Coast Guard decommissioned the light in 1952 and shortly afterward sold the land to the Town of Mattapoisett while retaining ownership of the lighthouse itself. The light was reactivated again in 1961. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1987.

In 1993, US Coast Guard Auxiliary Flotilla 67 adopted the lighthouse. It was renovated by members of the Auxiliary in 1995-1996.

The lighthouse is in a grassy park and has a large, gravel parking lot. There is a picnic area with trash receptacles.

Share Button