Tabitha Inn (Our Lady’s Haven) (1905)
71 Center Street, Fairhaven MA
Built to accommodate an increase in visitors to Fairhaven, this well-appointed Elizabethan style hotel was named after Henry H. Rogers’ maternal great-grandmother, Tabitha (Crowell) Huttlestone. At the time it was built in 1905, the Tabitha Inn was considered one of the finest small accommodations outside of Boston or New York. Mark Twain and other notable friends of the Rogers family stayed here. Twain favored a room in the front corner with a beautiful fireplace. Following Twain’s death in 1910, his personal valet Claude Beuchotte became the manager of the Tabitha Inn. He managed the hotel for 18 years, even after Henry H. Rogers Jr. sold it in 1927. In 1929, the hotel became the property of Zeiterion Realty Corp, owned by Barney Zeitz.
In 1942 the Department of the Navy took over the inn to use it to house Coast Guard men during the World War II. It was then sold to the Fall River Diocese of the Catholic Church, who renamed it Our Lady’s Haven and use it as a nursing home. An addition in the rear was added in the 1950s.