Long Plain Museum (1875)
1203 Main Street, Acushnet
Sunday, June through Labor Day, 2:00 to 4:00 p.m.
And by appointment
The Long Plain Museum was originally built in 1875 as the Long Plain School House. The school closed in 1972 and the building was then reopened as a local history museum. It is now operated by the Acushnet Historical Society.
The museum features four rooms focusing on the Acushnet whaling heritage, the blacksmith trade, period clothing and furniture, numerous artifacts, and a restored schoolroom.
The museum is open Sundays from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. June through Labor Day. It is also opened for groups by appointment. Admission is free. For more information, call 508-961-7843 or visit http://longplainmuseum.org/index.html.