Long Plain Friends Quaker Meeting House (1759)
1341 Main Street, Acushnet
Hours by appointment
Built in 1759, the Long Plain Friends Meetinghouse is the oldest church building in Southeastern Massachusetts.
In 1985 the deteriorated building was take over from the Society of Friends by the Acushnet Historical Commission. It was completely restored through the efforts of volunteers, using funds from the Town of Acushnet, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, various charitable foundations, and individual donors.
It contains many original furnishings, including solid oak pews from three different centuries, as well as a small, but unique Quaker museum. The 2.7 acre park-like property also has a burial ground dating to the early 18th century. It is surrounded by a dressed stone wall. The Long Plain Friends Meetinghouse is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Meetinghouse can be rented for weddings and social events.
The Quaker Meetinghouse is operated by members of the Acushnet Historical Commission, along with a private, non-profit organization called the “Friends of the Friends” Quaker Meetinghouse. For more information call 508-961-7842 or visit http://longplainmuseum.org/meetinghouse.html.