Lectures on the Lawn
First & Third Saturdays of June, July, August
Old Stone Schoolhouse, 40 North St., Fairhaven
A new series of historical lectures will be presented this summer on the first and third Saturday afternoons in June, July, and August at the Old-Stone Schoolhouse at 40 North Street, Fairhaven. Bring a lawn chair or blanket and settle under the tree next to the one-room schoolhouse for a talk by Tourism Director Chris Richard. The subject matter of each presentation will have a connection to the schoolhouse and/or its surrounding neighborhood. The talks are intended for adults, but are suitable for older children and teens as well.
The lectures will begin at 2:00 p.m. on the selected dates listed below, but the schoolhouse itself is open from 12:30 to 4:30 p.m. on all Saturdays during June, July and August (except August 12, 2017). Admission is free.
In the event of rain, there is very limited adult-sized seating inside. Please note: the Old Stone Schoolhouse has no running water or restroom facilities. For more information, call 508-979-4085 or email FairhavenTours@fairhaven-ma.gov.
Poverty Point History
Saturday, June 3, 2017, 2:00 p.m.
The lecture will cover three centuries of history of the Oxford Village/Poverty Point neighborhood where the school is located.
Manjiro & Whitfield
Saturday, June 17, 2017, 2:00 p.m.
The lecture will focus on the story of the first Japanese person to live in America, Manjiro Nakahama, who was brought to Fairhaven in 1843 by Capt. William Whitfield. Manjiro first attended school at the Old Stone Schoolhouse.
Oxford Chapel & Church of the Good Shepherd
Saturday, July 1, 2017, 2:00 p.m.
The lecture will include the history of the Oxford Chapel, which once stood across the street from the schoolhouse, and the Church of the Good Shepherd, which met at the schoolhouse for about 15 years before its own church was built, as well as other religious groups that used these buildings.
The Taber Family
Saturday, July 15, 2017, 2:00 p.m.
The lecture will focus on several generations of the Taber family, which first owned the land making up Oxford Village starting with Thomas Taber, son-in-law of the Pilgrim John Cooke in the 1660s. Also included will be George H. Taber, for whom the masonic lodge was named.
Schools of North Fairhaven
Saturday, August 5, 2017, 2:00 p.m.
The lecture will relate the stories of Oxford, Sacred Hearts, and Anthony schools, which followed after the closing of the Old Stone Schoolhouse in 1896.
Saturday, August 19, 2017, 2:00 p.m.
The lecture will focus on the history of Rogers School, built in 1885 by Henry H. Rogers, which began the shift away from the small one-room districts schools in Fairhaven.