George H. Taber Lodge (1901)
20 Center Street, Fairhaven
Henry H. Rogers’ effort to boost business in the center of town resulted in the construction of the Masonic Building, the third floor of which contains the ornate meeting place of the George H. Taber Lodge, A.F. & A.M., named for Fairhaven and Massachusetts’ oldest living freemason, who was related by marriage to Rogers. Originally named Concordia Lodge, the group was given the building under the condition the lodge be renamed to honor “Uncle George.” Rental of the first floor for business use helps the lodge maintain the building.